"I started photographing my domestic world and writing not just about what I had made,
but why I made it, examining the thoughts that accompany creativity and the act of making."
Jane Brocket from The Gentle Art of Domesticity p. 189 UK edition

About Me

Simple. Basic. Pure. I like those words. I like projects that use those words in their directions, whether for knitting, crochet, spinning fiber, watercolor painting, patchwork quilts, or for English-Asian-Country-IKEA decor. I like soothing and spirited sounds. I like the fragrance of gardenias, spicy carnations, Sweet Williams, fresh mowed grass, fresh brewed coffee and fresh baked bread. I like viewing who-dunnits, and reading sweet romances set in England. I like little collections of little sheep, and little bears and little cobalt blue glass objects, and little world globes. I like sharing hugs with family members and friends and learning to love them and others as a Christ follower.

These likes developed after my parents bravely launched me into life in Massachusetts over half a century ago. They loved the ocean and took our family tent camping at Hampton Beach, New Hampshire as often as they could; but we lived on Flying Feather Chicken Farm until I was about five. Then following the trails of prairie schooners, my dad accepted a job and moved our family to a poultry farm in Missouri. For the next 15  years, I survived elementary, junior high, high school, and two years at CMSU.

At this point my two older sisters had already pioneered their way to jobs and marriages in California, and my parents and I drove out to visit them. On the way my dad and I joined my older sister at the Grand Canyon where we rode on mule back down and up Bright Angel Trail...awesome adventure. Once in California my dad and I went deep sea fishing and I got horribly seasick...agonizing adventure. But surpassing those two ventures, my older sister and her husband introduced me to a sailor whose last name was Saylor. In spite of my recent seasickness, I was hooked, and we married six months later.

Over the next 12 years we collected a crew of children: first two adopted sons, then two foster daughters for a few years, and finally two naturally born daughters. We enjoyed nearly 38 years of marriage and family life before my husband suddenly died in 2009.

On my current course, I am buying a rustic cabin-like house in the Portland, OR, area, with my son-in-law, oldest daughter, their five little grand girls, my youngest daughter, and her husband and her little chocolate-brown dog, Kitty. 
My youngest son turned 40 in 2015, moved to the West Coast and is living with us also. I text-phone-visit my oldest son who turned 46 in 2015, his wife, and two grand boys in New York. 

Now more a spy glass than part of a set of binoculars, I am freshly exploring how I can best use the B.A. in Speech-Communications I earned from SJSU in 1975. Typing this log for you to read seems to me to be a part of the answer for this season of my sailing; and as you read, I hope you have a Bon Voyage!